Roman mummy

So, after the blog tour came … the Actual Tour. I spent a couple of weeks in March travelling to  schools in London and talking about writing books, creating characters, choosing book covers and other fun stuff. I mostly met girls (perhaps unsurprising given the current pinkness of my page edges), and they were – all of them – quite lovely. By which I mean very lovely, not quite lovely.

They also had extremely good names. Many of which I will be stealing for future books. There were, for example, two Tigerlilies. And a Candy Darling (that was her first name – I love her mother already). But mostly, they were just charming and delightful young people. I really enjoy my tours.

Then came the Even More Of A Tour Tour. I’d been promising my 11 year-old for ages that if he worked hard this year, I’d reward myself – ahem, I mean him – with a trip somewhere interesting. And as I’ve spent loads of time in Italy over the years and he’s just started learning Latin, Rome seemed like a good idea.

So I booked it, assuming the March weather would be rainy and yucky, but at least we’d miss the worst of the summer heat and the summer crowds. And then the weather went and got ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS for the four days we were there. Not a cloud in the sky. Not one. Once. And we had a wonderful time.

We took 319 photos. I will spare you most of them, but here are some. Check out the sky.

Blue. It was March. Sometimes you just get lucky.

Piazza Navona. Just - wow.

If you go in March, the forum is full of wisteria and cherry blossom. Go in March

Travelling with an 11 year-old, it is hard to resist the charm of a well made, antique horse's bottom in the Colisseum

Mummy writing. (In a cafe on the terrace of the Victor Emmanuel Monument. Which I recommend. Because from it, you can't see the Victor Emmanuel Monument.)

Roman lunch

This is what happens when you let the 11 year-old take the pictures. (It's remarkably lifelike, actually.)

Not. A. Single. Cloud.

If you haven't been, Rome looks mostly like this from high up. Note the complete lack of the Victor Emmanuel Monument in this picture.

And this.

At the Capitoline Museums. My favourite foot.

The head of Constantine. Also enormous and fab.

Ditto

Can't remember which goddess this was. Sooooo beautiful.

Bridge statue near Castel Sant'Angelo. Did I mention the sky was cloudless?

Louis Vuitton's shop window in the Via Condotti. A rainbow quiver of arrows. In honour of The Hunger Games, we assumed.

One thought on “Roman mummy

  1. Wow, it looks like you had an amazing time! It was actually quite nice in England too, it was insane. But now it’s gone back to normal and it’s snowing in Scotland so I reckon it was a bit of a blipin the weather.

Leave a Reply

