Hat number 3

I can’t begin to tell you how lovely the bride looked on Saturday. Tall and very beautiful, in a simple bias-cut satin dress and lace shrug with elbow-length sleeves, and natural hair. As radiant as one would hope. She really did leave Pippa Middleton standing. My brother, the groom, wasn’t bad either. But this isn’t a blog about them and they’re on honeymoon so even they haven’t seen the photos yet, and therefore I really don’t feel I can share them. (Even though I took some seriously good ones. Very good. You have no idea what you’re missing. Quite amazing.)

But anyway … here instead, is a picture of Hat Number Three (from M&S, should you need to rush out and buy it), with matching and rather dashing husband. It was a perfect June day, with warm sun blazing down on London all afternoon, so actually the hat was very practical, and meant I didn’t wilt with heat exhaustion. It made kissing relatives slightly tricky, but they were all very noble and ducked.

I like to think Audrey Hepburn might have worn it to do a spot of prison visiting in Breakfast at Tiffany’s, had she found it. Not sure she shopped in M&S, though. A nice American lady who saw me prancing about in it told me to get and, nice American lady, you were right.

Leave a Reply

