Glitter, gifts and dressing up

It has been – as it often is – a busy week.

First of all, I was on babysitting duty, meaning I had to write for all I was worth in the morning and do fun stuff (or what a four year-old thinks of as fun stuff, which isn’t Mummy on her laptop) in the afternoons.

We made cakes. It’s my standard fallback solution. But these were no ordinary cakes. We’d been to lunch at Yo Sushi in Harvey Nichols on Sunday (I LOVE LIVING IN LONDON) and in their food hall they had little pots of glitter to put on icing. The four-year old insisted on green icing, naturally. The results looked like this:

I’m not sure the full glamour made it through to the web, but you’ll have to imagine them sparkling all over, like little magical edibles, worthy of Honeydukes. They were magnificent! I ate about 6.

Then I wrote some more, including finishing MY FAVOURITE SCENE in the new book. It was exciting to do and I just can’t wait to finish the book now. I want to show people and see what they think of my main character, and whether they love her as much as I do.

Meanwhile, I was having an online conversation with some of my writing friends about Christmas presents. I know it’s early, but some people like to plan. Luisa Plaja suggested that maybe we could offer to sign and dedicate copies of our books for people. She’s explained it brilliantly on the Chicklish website. If you’d like me to sign and dedicate Threads or Beads, Boys and Bangles to you or a friend, let me know via the email form on my website, or the threadsthebook website, and I can post them off to you. I’ll be offering each book at £5, instead of the usual £6.99, plus an additional £1 postage per book. But check out Chicklish to see the full range.

And finally, I was off to Benenden School last night to talk about Threads to about 80 girls. It was a beautiful drive through the (slightly windy) autumn countryside. I went to school near there myself, so it was very familiar. And much more fun to be going back as an author, rather than a boarder. If I’d known this was how things were going to turn out when I was a teenager, I’d have saved myself a lot of stress.

I was very lucky to have supper first with 11 very keen readers and their lovely English teacher, Miss Brown. We talked about our favourite books, what we did and didn’t like about them, the writing process and all sorts of things. But the conversation was most lively when we talked about book covers. Wow! Covers are a really emotive subject. We all agreed that the latest cover for Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver, is really good.

If you’d like to see pictures of the event, check out my Facebook page. It’s the one with the picture of me in big hoop earrings. You’ll know it when you see it.

Next week, I’m off to Hatfield and Milton Keynes. More talking. A creative writing workshop. Lots and lots of boys and girls to meet and chat to. And, I hope, a few more chapters of book 4 to be written in between. Phew!

Like I said. Busy. But I can’t think of anything I’d rather be doing. Is it still the best job in the world? Why, yes it is.

One thought on “Glitter, gifts and dressing up

Leave a Reply

