Avoiding stereotypes (and how to do a Rubik’s cube)

The lovely Sarah Webb writes about writing, and about writers. She also writes actual books – e.g. the Amy Green Teen Agony Queen series. I’m going on tour with her and Judi Curtin in Ireland in October. Have I mentioned this before? I think maybe I have. More news soon …

Anyway, the lovely Sarah also blogs about writing and writers. I recommend following her. She gives such an insight into a very busy writer’s life. In a recent post Sarah recommends a site called kidlit.com run by an American agent called Mary Kole. Mary has posted up a 9 minute vlog (yes vlog – like video blog, you know?) about how to avoid writing stereotypical characters.

If you’re a writer and you don’t mind the odd supportive suggestion from someone in the business, I recommend the first 8 and a half minutes. If on the other hand, you are more of an eighties toy fanatic, I recommend the last 30 seconds, where Mary does a Rubik’s cube WITHOUT LOOKING AT IT.

I used to be able to do that when I was fifteen, and was supposed to be revising for O-levels. There was a trick to it. You had to make an L, then an H, then a T …. Can’t remember any of it now. But Mary can. She rocks. I bet she’s pretty good at assessing children’s books too.

Leave a Reply

