Wish I was here …

Tomorrow I’ll be going to see the Grace Kelly exhibition at the V&A. Yay! But meanwhile, I do very much wish I was here. And that I was reading this book.

Sigh.

I sent some of my characters off to the Met Ball in book 3. And if you’re a longstanding reader of this blog, you’ll know I tried to see the costume display at the Met when I went to New York last autumn. BUT THERE WASN’T ONE! Oh my God. It’s either the most extraordinary thing you’ve ever seen, or NOTHING AT ALL. I still don’t get that. They say it’s because the clothes are fragile, which they are, but the V&A seems to manage. So does the Bath Costume Museum. I think it’s because the Met has a history of grand exhibitions, but doesn’t have a concept of a permanent collection. Very sad, considering how many thousands of truly incredible and important dresses they’ve got.

Oh well, I’ll try and time my next visit to New York to coincide with something fabulous. Meanwhile, I can always visit Grace Kelly. And Dream of Dior.

Leave a Reply

