Talking about myself … and other people

Just in case this blog hasn’t told you all you wanted to know – and more – about me, my ideas and creating the characters for Threads, here’s a link to an interview I did recently for MarjoleinBookBlog in Holland. (Don’t worry – it’s not in Dutch. Unless you’re Dutch, in which case, sorry – it’s not in Dutch.) Marjolein asked some great questions and I celebrated finishing writing book 3 by answering them!

Beads, Boys & Bangles also got a fab review in Chicklish, which is a YA review site I love and follow slavishly. I’m regularly in touch, via practically every web networking tool invented, with Luisa and Keris who run the site, and who both have books coming out at the same time, so we’re all getting excited and stressed about our new books together. If you like teen fiction for girls, do check them out. They are Swapped by a Kiss and Della Says: OMG!. You won’t regret it, I promise.

Today was a thrill. I voted – although in fact my elder son put my paper in the ballot box, so as far as he’s concerned, he voted. This is probably the last election where none of our children can cast a ballot. Although I’m all in favour of giving the vote to 16 year-olds. I occasionally hear that they wouldn’t have a clue what to do, or wouldn’t bother, but the teens I know are passionate about all the major political problems and can talk just as sensibly about issues, policies and parties as most of the grown-ups. If we want them to be engaged in our society, I think we should invite their opinion.

Well, only a few hours to go until we find out what we did just then, and which sleep-deprived man (or men) we’ve given the country to for the next five years. One thing we all seem to be agreed on: they all have great taste in wives. If only I could have voted for Samantha Cameron’s wardrobe, the whole thing would have been so much easier. (Mind you, I wouldn’t be surprised if there are people out there who did.)

Leave a Reply

