Books, blogs and boxes …

Oooh, I love it when the postman has to ring the bell. Usually – in fact, almost always – it’s because my husband has bought something on the internet. But every now and again it’s because there’s a parcel for me. And occasionally, that parcel is full of books. And sometimes, those books are my books. I LOVE THIS BIT!

This week, there were two parcels. A big padded envelope and a box. In the envelope were my French copies. Don’t they look gorgeous? Happy, happy, happy. I’ve just done a two hour session on the internet, talking to French readers about the book, and about the process of becoming a writer. It was a cross between doing a really, really difficult exam (in French), and having a spa treatment (talking about myself and all my favourite subjects; but in French). SO worth it, though. Fabulous to talk to readers directly, and wonderful to know that at least 3 people have read ‘La vie est un conte de filles’! And liked it.

In the box were my copies of Beads, Boys and Bangles. Also gorgeous. How they will look on a bookshelf next to ALL THAT BLACK of bit lit (as we call it in the trade), I’m not entirely sure. People will need sunglasses! I can’t wait until they hit the shelves. Don’t forget – if you want to win your very own signed copy, my competition is still open. Just click here and follow the simple instructions.

And if you are one of the many people thinking – ooh, that dress on the cover looks amazing, then you need to click here. The dress is by Tanielle Lobo, a very talented designer from Central St Martins who’s inspired by her home city of Mumbai. I think it makes the cover. Thank you, Tanielle!

Next week is very exciting. I’ll be at the London Book Fair, talking to whoever has managed to get there despite the TOTAL LACK OF AIR TRAVEL and is also interested in teen fiction. But even more than that, I’m due to finish book 3. By ‘finish’, I mean write the final chapters, and then go back and start correcting all the bits I know need tweaking, before sending it off to my editor and then rewriting whatever we think still needs redoing. So it’s a relative term, but still an amazing one.

It’s not just the end of the book, but the end of the series. It’s my ‘JK writes the Potter children at St Pancras station’ moment. (Sorry if that was a plot spoiler for the only person on the planet who doesn’t know.)

If you want to know more about the editorial process, by the way, try Sarah Webb’s blog about it. Very warm and informative, just like Sarah.

Right. Off to get my beauty sleep before the whole Book Fair/finish series scenario. Good night!

3 thoughts on “Books, blogs and boxes …

Leave a Reply

