Win Beads, Boys and Bangles

The sequel to Threads – Beads, Boys and Bangles – comes out in a month! One month! That’s no time at all.

So far, the lovely Rachel at Chicken House has sent me 2 copies to show me how gorgeous the cover is (it’s gorgeous, especially when you line it up beside book 1 – then it’s super-gorgeous) and I am going to give away one of those copies … that’s 50% of my total stock!!!! … to the winner of this competition.

The copy will, naturally, be signed to the winner. The other copy is already my husband’s. He always gets the first one. So that leaves me with, like zero copies for now, but that’s fine, because soon it will be ON THE SHELVES OF EVERY BOOKSHOP IN THE COUNTRY (I hope) and on Amazon (naturally) and I’ll be able to get my own. Plus I’ll get others, of course. Don’t worry about me. I’ll be fine. This is about you.

The deadline is 30 April, when I will pick a winner out of a hat. I’ll announce who it is on 1 May, which is two days before the official publication day of Beads, Boys and Bangles. Which is on 3 May. Don’t forget.

What you have to do is this:

  1. Write a comment on this blog, giving me your name and telling me three of your favourite books so far from 2009 and/or 2010. That’s a lot to choose from …
  2. Go to the threadsthebook website, check it out and email me from there – there’s a form in the back section. Just give me your name again, and mention this competition. It can be a short email. But that way, I’ll be able to email you back if you win and arrange practical stuff. Plus, you get to see my lovely, lovely website. Everyone’s a winner!

There are no right or wrong answers to part 1 (apart from your name, of course). I won’t be remotely judging your taste in literature, or at all offended if you don’t include Threads (let’s just assume you loved Threads). But I’m fascinated to know what’s good out there. I shall look, learn, go out and buy, based on your recommendations.

Thank you, everyone. I hope you enjoy this competition. OK, you have 30 days.

Ready … steady … go.

23 thoughts on “Win Beads, Boys and Bangles

  1. My name is Jean, and my favourite books have been Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater, Carbon Diaries 2015 by Saci Lloyd and also Numbers by Rachel Ward! 😀 And it wasn’t published in 2009, but I REALLY enjoyed Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier!

  2. Great contest!

    My favorite books of 2009 where:
    Red Glass by Laura Resau
    Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Yen Mah
    Sofi Mendoza’s Guide for getting lost in Mexico by Malin Alegria

  3. Marielle here (I was in the norwegian bookblogtour fpr Threads) and here’s my three;

    1. The girls -by Lori Lansens – a sad and heartwarming book, that somehow is very funny at the same time.

    2. The amulet of Samarkand – the Bartimaeus trilogy
    by Jonathan Stroud

    -ok,so it’s from 07,but it is one of the best fantasy novels that’s not written by Terry Pratchett. If you like magic at all- read it !

    3. Now this is technically number four,but the one I wanted to recommend is in Norwegian only,so for that reason I recommend the book SNOW – here’s a link! http://www.jadedsnow.com/index.htm

    I would of course pimp my own book – but I’m still editing it. All the best reading experiences up ahead!

  4. My fave books are…
    Threads- naturally- By you
    The ingo series, by Helen Dunmore
    and
    Coraline, by Niel Gaiman, which wasnt published in 2009 but
    I reallyy enjoied this book along with A Town Like Alice, which is
    an adult book, but I read it any way!!!!!

  5. hi, my favourite books from 2009/2010 are –

    Beswitched by Kate Saunders which is so good.

    Love Aubrey by Suzanne Lafleur- it is really sad.

    Threads by Sophia Bennett which I have read four times now.

    They are all really good books!

  6. My fav books are Theads (couldn’t put it down !!!!!!!!!) by you 🙂
    The Vampire Diaries searies by l.J Smith and 🙂
    That Summer by Sarah Dessen 🙂 !!!!!!!!!!

  7. Gorgeous contest, Sophia! 😉

    My favourite books of 2010 (so far!) are:
    Threads (obvs.!) – first book I read this year and also the best book I read this year! 😉
    Drawing with Light by Julia Green
    The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson..
    Ohh you are so cruel for making it only three books! I have way more! Featuring authors like Keris Stainton and Rachel Hawkins..so many! 😉 x

  8. Hi guys!

    Thank you to everyone who’s entered so far. Glad you like the competition and thanks for the fabulous recommendations. And just for saying hi. It’s great to hear from you.

    Keep them coming in, people!

    sophia xxx

  9. ello =)

    my 3 favourite books i would recommend is:

    1) Threads- an awesome book that keeps you wanting to read right to the end.

    2) tracy Beaker by jacqueline wilson

    3) noughts and crosses by malorie blackman- a heart throbbing book (recommended by my sister!)

  10. My name is Leona and I found it really difficult to pick my three favourite books but here they are:
    “Are these my basoomas I see before me?” and the other books in the Georgia Nicolson series by Louise Rennison
    Cookie by Jacqueline Wilson
    and finally Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo- although it wasn’t published in 2009 or 2010 I loved it so much I felt that I had to tell you about it!
    Of course, I would have said that threads is one of my three favourite books but I haven’t finished reading it yet!

  11. My name is Annie, these are my three favourite books which I read this year and last. I read a lot of books!

    1)Threads; obviously! I love this book, it lets me forget my present chaotic world, something that is not easily done!

    2)I was tempted to say Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer, but that is a little unoriginal, so I am going to say Wicked! by Jilly Cooper. I had just finished reading Midnights Children by Salomon Rushdie, and was in need of something totally different and light, so I read it and loved it.

    3)All of Jeremy Clarkson’s books; I love them, and I love him. I think that they are funny and true, and VERY un-PC! It is certainly an acquired taste but definitely one of my favourite sets of books.

    Just a very short eclectic snippet of my favourite books, I hope you enjoy!
    ❤ x

  12. Hay my names Holly Martin
    and here are my three fave books from this year and last

    1-the harry potter series i love that sort of thing and the books were fabbity fab!

    2- Threads i loved i’ve also sent u a email about it sophia!

    3-the Angus Thongs and full frontal snogging series there a great laugh!

  13. Hi sophia,

    Well… My three favourite books that were published in 2009/2010 are;
    1. Crocodile Tears by Anthony Horowitz – 2009
    2. Threads (of course) by Sophia Bennett
    3. The Lady in the Tower by Marie Louise Jensen – 2009

    And my three favourite books that I read in 2009/2010 for the first time are;
    1. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – one of the best books ever!!!!!
    2. Holes by Louis Sachar – another fantastic book!
    3. And finally the Inkheart series by Corneilla Funke I’m breaking the rules a bit here as I first read them in 2005 but then I read them in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010!

    Thank you very much Sophia for visiting my blog and commenting on it – I’m honored!!

    Thank you
    Dottie

  14. My name is Ella Creamer and these are my favourite books of 2009/2010

    -Threads by Sophia Bennett (you’re such an inspiring person!)
    -The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne (soo sad)
    -Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer (beautiful story :D)
    xxxxx

  15. Hi Sophia, My name is Nur Gasmelsid and these are my favourite books of 2009/2010:

    – Need by Carrie Jones (STUNNING BOOK!)
    – The Princess Plot by Kirsten Boie (Quite different from most books i’ve read)
    – Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson (Couldn’t put it down!)

    Not to mention threads, something special about that book – i just can’t put my finger on it…
    I hope you enjoy the books!

  16. My name is Hanifa and I luvv reading

    My favourite books are:

    1) House of night tempted, loved it becuase it was about vampires and was amazing

    2) Threads loved it becuase it was girly and was very interesting about Crow and what happend to her brother

    3) Night world volume 3, becuase I luvv reading about vampires/witches etc, because it is very super natural and you can get into another world

    Hope you like them
    x

  17. Mmmmm…:

    1. The Boy in the Dress BY DaViD wiLlIaMs (a fashion story too!!)
    2. MARSHMALLOW by Clare Turley Newberry (it’s not a real novel; it’s a picture book. But the illustrations are so sweet, and naturally I’m an animal lover, so you’d understand what I mean.)
    3. Wesley the Owl by STACEY O’BRIEN (IT’S WONDERFUL!!!!!!!! READ IT READ IT READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
    4. ((I can’t help it!!)) Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar (you should also think about her poems)

  18. Hi,

    1) Threads By Sophia Bennett

    2) Cosmic by Frank Cottrell Boyce

    3) I was Jane Austen’s best friend by Cora Harrison

  19. Lots more recommendations. Thank you so much, everybody! And not too long to go until I pull the winner out of the hat. But there’s still enough time to enter the competition if you haven’t already … xxx

  20. hiya,

    My favorite 3 books of 2009/2010 are:

    Heaty feather- Jacqueline wilson
    6 feet deep -Rose Imepy
    The Medusa Project The Thief- Sophie Mckenzie

  21. Hi, it’s difficult to just pick three!! But I loved:
    1. Threads
    2. Enchanted Glass by Diana Wynne Jones – she’s one of my favourite authors and this was just as good as her other books.
    3. The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society it’s a wonderful moving story I’ve already re-read it.
    Libby x

  22. OK!!!
    Here we go…
    1, Threads-naturally!! Its sooo good!!
    2, Hetty Feather by Jaqueline Wilson!(It achelly made me cry,, OVER A BOOK!!! and thats hard to do!)
    3,Oh this is SO hard. Ok this is a brill set of books, The Ingo series, by Helen Dunmore!! I have read it about 1000 times!lol!!
    ionex

  23. Hi my name is Kate (obviously) and..uh, these are my top three books to date:

    1. Threads (Crow = Angel sent from heaven to teach us girls how to sew a cocktail dress – and how to wear them, too, without looking like a loonie in a sack!)
    2. Dizzy by Cathy Cassidy (Good storyline: Girl meets Mum, goes to a festival, meets the drop-dead-hand-on-heart gorgeous Finn and then whisks back home after a bucket full of drama. Fabbo.)
    3. Seriously Sassy by Maggi Gibson (Uh, Maggi? I’ve been searching for my own Twig for quite a bit. You know any fit, tree-hugging, singing superstar boys in Scotland? If you do, y’know, let me know…)

    Hope you like ’em, Sophia, and am counting down until Beads, Boys + Bangles overly-excitedly! Xx

Leave a Reply

