Jewel comes to London

Sunday was Part 1 of the fashion competition prize, sponsored by Tammy and Bliss. (Part 2 happens when the winning dress is featured in the June issue of Bliss. You know. In that typical fashion competition way. NOT!!!)

Anyway, Part 1 involved Jewel (yes, that is her real name – I know!) and her mum coming to London and meeting up with me and the fabulous Mary Byrne, my publicist and all-round wonderful person (as you can see here) at the V&A.

Mary

Jewel is 11, much cooler than me, and an aspiring fashion designer. I hope she enjoyed the day as much as I did.

Jewel

and her mum

and her mum

The day went like this …

  • Drinks at the V&A cafe – the one mentioned in Threads, with the incredible decor and glorious lights.
  • An extended visit to the V&A shop. I bought 2 necklaces, a purse, a good luck charm made out of bits of kimono and several postcards. Jewel was more restrained.
  • Oh yes, a London Fashion Week show. The Matthew Williamson one. We were opposite Twiggy, Sienna Miller, Zandra Rhodes, Joan Burstein (from Browns; fashion legend; I think she smiled at me) and someone Mary thought might be Lady Gaga. He wasn’t.

That's Twiggy in the background!

... and I counted them all home again

  • By the way, I’m hoping to get a fashion report from Jewel when she’s done stuff like school and homework. When it comes in, I’ll share it with you.
  • After the show, we were standing about and I spotted someone I thought looked like Scott Schuman, the guy who created my favourite blog EVER, the SartoriaList. Scott is a street photographer. He takes pictures of cool people looking chic without trying too hard. If I need a bit of fashion inspiration, I check out his site. Anyway, it was Scott. I went over and said hi [Major Fashion Moment] and introduced Jewel. And Scott asked if he could photograph her. So she coolly posed for him. This is the street photography equivalent of coolly posing for Mario Testino.

Major Fashion Moment

Sure - no problem

  • Later, Jewel went off to spend her Tammy vouchers (more of her prize) at the Oxford Street Bhs.
  • I went home to recover.
  • All I can say is, Jewel rocks.
One thought on “Jewel comes to London

Leave a Reply

