Books to think about

I’m about to do something very dangerous. I’m about to talk about books I haven’t read. I’m judging them (as people do) by the cover, and the blurb and what I’ve read on the internet. DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME! It’s always better to read a book, as you know, and I’m eternally grateful to the people who’ve read Threads before talking about it, and who have their own unique take on the story because they gave it their time and attention.

However …

These look really interesting. And I’m in the process of trying to find various Christmas presents for people, and if you want some ideas, I hope these help. Oh, and I have read one of them, and it’s BRILLIANT, and HYSTERICAL. See if you can guess which one it is.

First: Be Beautiful, Every Girl’s Guide to Hair, Skin and Make-up. Written by Alice Hart-Davis and her 13 year-old daughter, Molly. I know that at 13 (as now) I was pretty interested in how to make the most of my face, hair, shape and everything, and how to make the least of my spots, split-ends and other unwanted pests. I’m hoping this book is a life-affirming, information-packed guide, and not some impossible, perfectionist tract with lots of photos of glossy, pouting models that will just make you miserable about yourself. But if it’s as good as some people say it is, it’s definitely going under the tree.

Next: My Wonderful World of Fashion: A Book for Drawing, Creating and Dreaming by Nina Chakrabarti. Nina went to Central St Martins (good) and this book isn’t about admiring labels, it’s about MAKING stuff yourself (excellent). Here’s a bit of what it says on Amazon: “The book encourages creativity, with illustrations to colour in and designs to finish off, as well as simple ideas for making and doing (how to make a sari, turn a napkin into a headscarf, dye a t-shirt, etc.).” Oooh – yummy! The perfect, inspirational approach to fashion. (Although I’m not TOTALLY sure about the whole napkin/headscarf thing. Possibly not to be followed slavishly.)

And finally, Father Christmas Needs a Wee, by Nicholas Allan. My nine year-old discovered this in the window of our local bookshop and my three year-old simply has to get it for Christmas, although I’m not sure who in the family will enjoy it the most. It’s starts off funny and gets funnier and funnier until SOME PEOPLE in bookshops end up laughing so hard at every new page that they get strange stares from other customers, who then have to check the book out surreptitiously. It’s sweet, beautifully illustrated and it really doesn’t need to be, but it’s also a very useful counting book to read with toddlers. Ladies who have had babies might find the last few pages more than somewhat uncomfortable, when Father Christmas can’t find his key to get back into his house at the crucial moment, but it’s a Christmas story, so a happy ending is quite likely. Thank God.

Oh, and for free and for nothing, 2 Klutz books that I know for a FACT will please girls and boys:

Paper Fashions Fancy (or any of the Paper Fashions series) and Book of Paper Airplanes. Trust me. Our house is full of the results. They work.

One thought on “Books to think about

Leave a Reply

