Packing

Today I have to pack my cute little new suitcase on wheels, because tomorrow I’m going to Manchester for work I need STUFF to do my job.

I used to have to do this a lot when I was a management consultant. It looked glamorous, if you think being at the airport at dawn, attending five meetings until tea-time and working on a PowerPoint presentation until 2 in the morning, before finding your hotel and hoping it’s still open is glamorous. Now, I get to the station at breakfast time, give a couple of talks, meet lots of fascinating people, sign books and am home by bedtime. And that really IS glamorous.

So here’s what today’s children’s fashion-related authors need to pack for a stage of their International 2009 Book Tours:

  • Laptop
  • Memory stick with slides of fashion inspiration and children in rural Uganda
  • Louboutins (heels – in case you don’t speak fashion)
  • Dress to change into for evening talk
  • Necklace
  • Other necklace
  • OTHER necklace (we don’t go under-blinged to our evening talks, OH no)
  • Earrings (see above)
  • Pink tights
  • Other dress that was made for me for my book launch (see posts far below), to show people at the evening talk
  • Book to read from. MUSTN’T FORGET THAT
  • Power lead, headphones and other boring, essential, heavy stuff
  • Notebook
  • Black pens
  • Signing pens (pink – to match the wibbling on my hardback. See posts far below for wibbling (my second favourite word))
  • Phone

There. Once packing’s underway, I’ll see if I can post a picture to show you. Meanwhile, the three year-old is on stage as a sheep in half an hour, and I have Mummy Duties. I’d let him help me pack, but I fear there would probably be a lot of trains and crayons in that bag, and not quite enough necklaces and earrings.

One thought on “Packing

Leave a Reply

