Fashion with compassion

An author can dream.

When Giles Deacon (winner of the ANDAM prize this year which means he got invited to show at PARIS COUTURE WEEK – and also designer of the latest outfit for the Cadbury’s Caramel Bunny), agreed to do a design for the charity hardback edition of Threads, a thought did cross my mind.

The thought was that my publisher would ring and say ‘Oh, by the way, we’ve got Giles’s original, stunning design in the office. What would you like us to do with it?’And I would say, ‘Oh, just send it over.’ And I would have it framed in my office (shed) and stare at it every day as I wrote and LIVE HAPPILY EVER AFTER. Because it is truly beautiful. And Giles Deacon, as well as being a genius designer is also a lovely person, and that’s important. And original fashion designs are a bit of a dream come true.

But what actually happened was that my publishers very sensibly gave it to Save The Children to auction as part of their Festival Of Trees, so that the money raised can go to the children we’re trying to help, who so desperately need healthcare, education, safety and basic stuff.

Which means that you can bid for it here. Online bids close on 7 December and the auction itself is on 8 December. Good luck. And let me know if you get her. I’d like to know she’s going to a good home.

Leave a Reply

