Sugar, Sugar

First of all, if you’re expecting GCSE results today, GOOD LUCK!

Facebook, Bebo and MySpace are going to be fizzing with messages today. My characters are taking their GCSEs in book 2, so I sort of know what people are going through. A bit. Fingers crossed for everybody!

Sugar - October edition

Sugar - October edition

We haven’t got an exam-taker in the family this year. We have next year (and 2 years after that, and 5 years after that, and six years after that …), but I was reminded about it because I was on Sugarscape. And I was on Sugarscape because Emily’s friend Sophie told me that she’d spotted a Threads competition in Sugar. Already! And it’s not even technically out yet! And so naturally I had to buy a copy, but I couldn’t find it anywhere in the magazine, and then Sophie explained (on Facebook) that it was in the Lad Mag section, which I hadn’t opened because it didn’t have Zac Efron OR Robert Pattinson on the cover and I’m not particularly into Nick Jonas (although I was subsequently fascinated to follow the timeline of his relationships with Miley Cyrus and Selena Gomez, who I see daily on Disney channel, because my son makes me and who are up there with Taylor Swift in terms of Girls I Find Interesting)) and so I opened the Lad Mag section and there it was! On the centre page! Right next to the bit where they explained, with dates and quotes, about Nick Jonas and Miley Cyrus and Selena Gomez (who are all just living a teenage novel plot at the moment – no wonder they’re writing songs about it). And the prize for the competition (apart from a signed copy from me) is Liz Earle Signature Facial, which looks REALLY nice, and there was a link to  a web page where you could enter the competition, so I was on that.

So if the GCSEs don’t go too well, and you need a pick-me-up, you know where to go to win that facial, and a book signed especially for you, with a fairy tale inside that will CHEER YOU UP INSTANTLY. I promise. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

