Girl Outside – Competition winners

In July, the competition was to design a book cover. And as always, you made it really tough for me. There were so many great entries. The prizes were a signed copy of The Look, and a copy of Adorkable, by Sarra Manning, who’s talking with me at the Edinburgh Festival next Sunday.

It took me ages to decide, but in the end, the winner of The Look was Amber, from The Mile Long Bookshelf. I love the colours in this picture, and the suggestion of adventure, and the truly great strapline. Straplines are really hard to do (as I know from bitter experience), so I was very impressed with this one. Congratulations, Amber!

The winner of Adorkable was Hannah Bowstead. I loved the simple graphics of this cover, and the style reminded me a bit of one of my favourites – A Necklace of Raindrops, by Joan Aiken, illustrated by the amazing Jan Pienkowski. Plus, the boots. Loving the boots. Well done, Hannah.

And finally, an honourable mention goes to Sara Coggin, whose blog, Box of Things, is also worth a look for its beautiful photographs. This drawing captures the spirit of my other books, I think. Loving the handbag, and the bowtie, and the fact that her head is missing. Intriguing! I’ll be sending Sara a signed postcard.

Thank you to all of you who entered. It was great fun to judge, and I hope you enjoyed it too. I’ll be putting these entries up on the Threadsthebook website, so look out for them there.

3 thoughts on “Girl Outside – Competition winners

Leave a Reply

