July competition – design a book cover

Hello lovely readers

It feels like ages since I’ve done a competition. I have 2 copies of books to give away: one of The Look (with its lovely pink page edges – stroke, stroke) and one of Adorkable, by Sarra Manning.

                               

This is in honour of my event with Sarra at the Edinburgh International Book Festival this year, where we’ll be appearing on 12th August, talking about fashion, style, jumble sales (apparently – not an expert), trendsetting on Twitter and being yourself.

I read Adorkable a few weeks ago and loved it. It’s definitely for older teen readers, in that it has a lovely boy (called Michael Lee) and a feisty girl (called Jeane Smith) and they … you know. So don’t say you’re not warned.

Jeane is fabulous at not caring about what people think of her, doing her own thing and acting as a role model for anyone who’s ever felt, well, dorky – but in a cool way.

The competition is this. In The Look, Ted is creative. Jeane is creative. I want you to be creative too, and to design a book cover for a book for teens.

The title of your book is Girl, Outside. It’s not a real book, I just made it up. You choose the genre, though. You can draw it, take a clever photo, do a collage (I love collages), paint a watercolour or whatever you like. Make it the cover of a book you know you and your friends would love to buy.

Then take a picture of your cover and send it to me. You can email me at sophiaben at me dot com.

I will pick a winner for each book, so let me know which one you would prefer.

The deadline is 31st July.

If I get enough good entries, I’ll put them up in a gallery here. Meanwhile, if there’s any crucial info that I’ve forgotten to give you, just ask me.

Have fun and get designing!

xxx

9 thoughts on “July competition – design a book cover

  1. Pingback: Competition! | sophiabennett.com

Leave a Reply

